Twice Knightley

Standard

So, I don’t know why but this week I was reminded of a fab outfit of Keira Knightley’s from last year that I was dying dying dying for.

I searched high and low last year for a beautiful yellow skirt like Keira’s but to no avail. Hers was from Whistles and was an eye-watering £110. Now much as I loves a summery frock, I’m also aware that the colour and fabric of said skirt is not exactly what you’d call trans-seasonal, and Britain is hardly a tropical paradise, so I thought it wasn’t really an investment.

But now, it having entered my consciousness for the second time, I have set myself the challenge of replicating Keira’s look, but finding the whole outfit for the price of the Whistles skirt. Remember fash-maths from earlier posts? Well, it’s back baby.

I decided that I’d leave out the belt, as if you’re like me, through the course of the last year you’ve accumulated more ‘free’ tan belts with items of clothing than you could shake a stick at. And I think I could shake a stick at quite a few.

So, here’s my first attempt.

Skirt – 19.99 New Look; Shirt £16.99 New Look; Sandals £60 Aldo

Fash-maths total: £96.98. Hurrah! This is good, yes, but I think I can do better…

Second attempt

Skirt £45 Oasis; Shirt (tie at the waist) £7.99 H&M; Sandals £19 Dorothy Perkins.

Fash-maths total: £71.99

Aside from me actually salivating at those sandals (errrrr, WANT) that leaves a delightful £38.01 to go and buy yourself a cocktail or two and attempt to attract a bloke like Keira’s.

Sorry, Whistles you just can’t beat fash-maths.

3 responses »

    • Good work my friend. Unfortunately putting the second skirt and the first sandals together would have pretty much blown the budget, hence why I put them that way around. £50 is a ruddy bargain though. I expect to see myself in that outfit very soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

